菜单 关闭

马蒂的故事

马蒂

2013年1月9日更新
遗憾的是,我们得知马蒂于1月4日星期五去世了。我们,在Lazarex这里,向她的家人和朋友送去我们的爱。谢谢你,马蒂,你照亮了我们的世界,给了我们灵感。

马蒂的故事
2012年9月25日

今天早上,我收到电子邮件,确认我正在服用的临床试验药物仍然有效。我的丈夫保罗和我每月去一次纽约,以便进行临床试验的医疗团队能够进行多种测试,以了解我的癌症对 "鸡尾酒 "药物的反应。不幸的是,当我们在纽约时,测试结果永远不会回来,所以我们带着不确定的心情回到家里,等待消息。但到目前为止,一切都很好!

我在1996年被诊断出患有多发性骨髓瘤,这是一种骨髓癌症,暂时是不活跃的或懒惰的。当你在描述癌症时,这是一个令人鼓舞的词!我的医生都说:"让我们观察和等待,因为我们的治疗方法不能治愈,而且比现在的疾病毒性更大。"这并没有阻止我改变我的生活方式,接受针灸、气功,在监督下补充维生素,学会少工作,多玩耍,比我想象的更经常地说 "不"。

在随后的几年里,我与保罗相爱了。他知道我有这种诊断,但它似乎从未作为一个大问题或 "交易杀手 "出现在表面。也许这是因为我们都很天真?2003年1月,保罗向我求婚,那年8月我们举行了最美妙、快乐、神奇、有趣、亲密的婚礼。保罗是个厨师,他为100多个家人和朋友做了饭。我们跳舞,我们唱歌,我们盛宴。

一年后,我的骨髓瘤决定不再偷懒。从那时起,我经历了一次失败的干细胞移植和无数的药物治疗方案,以及所有随之而来的副作用。其中一些比其他的更成功,一些比其他的更容易忍受,但总是,最终,我的疾病产生了抗药性,我必须转向下一个可用的药物或药物组合,一个更弱的档次,只是在我的喉咙后面多塞了一点恐惧。然而,通过厚和薄,保罗帮助我笑。始终,每天,我们都在笑。它让我们度过了坏消息、坏夜晚,以及一些非常糟糕的阶段。有时我们的笑话是离谱的黑色幽默--其他人不可能理解我们觉得如此有趣的事情。他已经适应了我是一个完全的洁癖者,因为我试图避免感染。我已经适应了他需要定期消失在一个好的老式的吹气男孩电影的深处。而他的禁区 "办公室/男人的洞穴/更衣室 "呢?哦,请不要让我开始。

我们都不得不学习骨髓瘤语言的细微差别,但我们也在每周的拼字游戏中学习了英语的细微差别。我非常肯定他利用了我吃了太多的药,脑子里一片混乱的日子,和我一起拖棋盘。我知道我利用了那些我头脑清醒的日子来挑战他马虎的拼写。我没有一天不感到被爱和被珍惜--即使我的头发越来越稀疏,我对时尚的想法是新的灰色运动裤,而且,天哪,我可能是难以忍受类固醇的人。

去年春天,我的最后一个治疗方案严重失败,我的医生决定我需要尽快让自己加入纽约的一个特定临床试验。这需要每个月来回纽约市一次,停留几天。我们没有时间计划,没有时间思考。我的医生希望我 "下周 "去那里。在这种情况下,我不清楚保罗和我如何能在身体上或经济上实现这一目标。好吧,身体上的挑战被保罗和一个善解人意的老板所消除。他让她知道,他每个月需要离开三天,而且从来没有人怀疑过这是首要任务。他做了所有的重活,在机场把我弄到轮椅上,看着我完成整个过程,而我不需要动一根手指。

Lazarex癌症基金会在那里帮助解决其他问题。我的社会工作者告诉我给他们打个电话。当Lazarex的工作人员告诉我他们的工作时,我突然哭了起来。我无法想象,有人能理解身患重病有多难;但又需要想办法报名参加临床试验,还有所有的经济负担、旅行后勤、记录收集、日程安排的改变等等。然后围绕这一需求建立一个基础!"。然而,在一个星期内,Lazarex就批准了我的旅行和住宿费用的帮助。我能够在提前10天左右进入另一个城市的临床试验,所有的障碍在我面前简单地融化了。我现在几乎已经完成了临床试验药物的第五个周期。这些药物正在抑制我的骨髓瘤,这是我所希望的一切。纽约的团队很好,很细心,我的丈夫、家人和家里的朋友都是我的支柱,而Lazarex团队使整个事情在财务上成为可能。他们帮助我获得了时间的礼物。我的未来,像往常一样,是一个无止境的问号。但我的现在充满了欢笑、希望和深深的感激。

2012年11月30日更新

10月,马蒂的癌症对临床试验治疗不再有反应。正在寻找另一项临床试验。

January 9, 2013 Update
Sadly we learned that Marty passed away on Friday, January 4th. We, here at Lazarex, send our love to her family and friends. Thank you Marty, you brightened our world and gave us inspiration.

Marty's Story
September 25, 2012

This morning I received the email that confirmed the clinical trial drugs I am taking are still working. My husband, Paul, and I travel to New York City once a month so that the medical team conducting the clinical trial can run multiple tests to see how my cancer is reacting to the "cocktail" of drugs. Unfortunately, the test results are never back while we're in New York, so we return home with uncertainty, and wait to hear. But so far, so good!

I was diagnosed with multiple myeloma in 1996, a cancer of the bone marrow that was, for the time being, indolent or lazy. Encouraging words when you're describing cancer! My doctors all said "let's watch and wait, as the treatments we have are not curative, and are more toxic than the disease right now." That didn't stop me from changing my life style, embracing acupuncture, qi-gong, well supervised vitamin supplementation, learning to work less, play more, saying "no" far more often than I thought possible.

During the ensuing years I fell in love with Paul. He knew I had this diagnosis, but it never seemed to rise to the surface as a big issue, or "deal killer". Maybe it was because we were both naive? In January of 2003, Paul asked me to marry him, and we had the most wonderful, happy, fantastic, fun, intimate wedding that year in August. Paul, a chef, cooked the meal for over 100 family and friends. We danced, we sang, we feasted.

One year later, my myeloma decided to stop being lazy. Since that time I have been through a failed stem cell transplant and countless drug treatment regimens with all of their attendant side effects. Some of them are more successful than others, some of them more tolerable than others, but always, eventually, my disease develops resistance and I must move on to the next available drug or combination of drugs, one notch weaker, and with just a little more fear lodged behind my throat. Yet through thick and thin, Paul helps me laugh. Always, daily, we laugh. It gets us through bad news, and bad nights, and some really bad stretches. Sometimes our jokes are off the charts black humor - no one else could possibly understand what we find so funny. He has adapted to my being a complete germ freak, as I try to avoid infection. I have adapted to his need to disappear on a regular basis into the depths of a good old fashioned blow-everything-up boy movie. And his off limits "office/man cave/dressing room"? Oh please, don't get me started.

We have both had to learn the nuances of the language of myeloma, but we have also learned the nuances of the English language as we play our weekly Scrabble game. I'm SO sure he takes advantage of the days when I've had to take too much medication and my brain is foggy to mop the board with me. I KNOW I take advantage of the days when I'm sharp as a tack to challenge his sloppy spelling! Not a day goes by that I don't feel loved and cherished - even as my hair thins, my idea of fashion is a new shade of gray sweatpants, and, oh my, can I be hard to live with on steroids.

This past spring, my last treatment regimen failed dramatically, and my doctor decided I needed to get myself enrolled in a particular clinical trial in New York as quickly as possible. It would require traveling back and forth to New York City once a month for a few days. We had no time to plan, no time to think. My doctor wanted me there "next week". Under the circumstances, I was unclear how Paul and I could make this happen either physically or financially. Well, physically the challenge was erased by Paul, and an understanding boss. He let her know that he needed to be gone for three days each month, and there has never been a question that this is priority one. He does all the heavy lifting, gets me into a wheelchair at the airport, sees me through the process without me having to lift a finger.

Lazarex Cancer Foundation was there to help with the rest. My social worker told me to give them a call. When the staff at Lazarex told me what they do, I burst into tears. I couldn't fathom that anyone understood how hard it was to be very ill; yet need to figure out how to sign on for a clinical trial, with all the financial burdens, travel logistics, record gathering, schedule changing, etc. And then build a foundation around that need! Yet, within a week, Lazarex approved me for help with travel and lodging costs. I was able to enter a clinical trial in another city with about 10 days advance notice, and all the obstacles simply melted away in front of me. I am now almost through with my fifth cycle of the clinical trial drugs. The drugs are holding my myeloma at bay, which is everything I can hope for. The team in New York is great and attentive, my husband, my family, and friends at home are my rocks, and the Lazarex team makes the whole thing financially possible. They have helped give me the gift of time. My future, as always, is an unending question mark. But my present is filled with laughter, hope, and deep gratitude.

November 30, 2012 Update

In October Marty’s cancer stopped responding to the clinical trial treatment. A search for another clinical trial is underway.